Nigeria Wins Big At CAF Awards

Posted on


Despite missing out on the night’s
most coveted award; The CAF
African Footballer of the Year
Award, which was carted away by
Ivorian and Manchester City’s Yaya
Toure, Nigeria nonetheless
dominated proceedings at the
2013 Glo-CAF Awards held at the
Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos.
It was Nigeria all the way at the
2013 Glo CAF Awards as the
country won six of the 11
categories in the prestigious
football Awards.
Leading the way on the night in
Lagos was the Coach of the Super
Eagles, Stephen Keshi, who was
voted Coach of the Year following
his ground breaking achievements
with the national team; the
height being the triumph at the
Africa Cup of Nations in South
Also Manchester City bound
Nigerian youngster, Kelechi
Iheanacho, was voted as Africa’s
Most Promising Talent, beating
other talented young footballers
also nominated from Ghana and
For the CAF Fair Play Award, the
Nigeria Supporters were
undisputedly awarded the honour
while the Super Eagles beat
Ethiopia and Burkina Faso to the
National Team of the Year Award.
Nigeria’s U-17 team, winner of
the FIFA U-17 World Cup, were
also named Youth National team
of the year.
Coach Stephen Keshi and three
Super Egles players were also
named in CAF Finest XI.
An Honorary Award was also
presented to Nigerian President
Goodluck Jonathan. The prize was
received on his behalf by Minister
of Sports, Bolaji Abdullahi.
In the other categories, Egyptian
club Al-Ahly for the umpteenth
time were voted as the Club of
the Year while Egyptian Legend
Abou Treika was on hand to
collect the award for the best
player based in Africa. Nigeria’s
Sunday Mba finished runners-up
in that category
Also Algerian referee Haimoudi
Djamel was voted the best
amongst his colleagues while the
duo of Bruno Metsu and Mahdi
Fariah were honoured as CAF
Legends for 2013.
While it was a good night in all
for Nigeria, Mikel Obi missing out
on the top prize was the low
point as Nigeria’s 15-year wait to
see one of her players crowned as
the Africa’s best continues.
On the other hand, Yaya Toure
has joined legends like Samuel
Eto’o and Abedi Pele who have
won the CAF Awards in three
successive years.
Full list of winners:
Africa player of the year: Yaya
Toure (Ivory Coast)
Africa-based player of the year:
iMohamed Abou-Treika (Egypt)
Referee of the year: Djamel
Haimoudi (Algeria)
Most Promising Talent: Kelechi
Iheanacho (Nigeria)
Coach of the Year: Stephen Keshi
National Team: Nigeria
Club of the Year: Ahly (Egypt)
Youth National team of the
year: Nigeria U-17, winner of the
FIFA U-17 World Cup
CAF Fair play award: Nigeria
CAF Legend: Bruno Metsu
(France), Mehdi Jose Faria (Brazil)
Africa XI :
Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria) – Ahmed Fathi (Egypt), Mehdi
Benatia (Morocco), Kevin Constant
(Guinea) – Mohamed Abou-Treika
(Egypt), John Obi Mikel (Nigeria),
Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast),
Jonathan Pitroipa (Burkina Faso) –
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
(Gabon), Emmanuel Emenike
(Nigeria), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana)
Source: CitiFm Ghana


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s